${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt}

Discussing the Florida penalties for driving under the influence

Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol in Florida is a serious crime. Even though there are strict laws in place, many people still find themselves facing such a charge in South Daytona. It's also not uncommon to come across people who have been charged with DUI multiple times. Those facing charges need to know the penalties set forth by the state of Florida for DUI offenses.

A person charged with DUI for the first time can expect to face the following penalties as outlined by Florida law:

  • 50 hours of community service
  • A fine ranging from $250-$500
  • No more than one year on probation
  • No more than 6 months in jail
  • No more than 9 months in jail if a minor was in the vehicle and you had a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher
  • A minimum of 180 days of license revocation
  • 12 hours at a DUI school

There is a zero tolerance policy in Florida for drivers under the age of 21 accused of DUI offenses. If a driver is stopped for suspicion of DUI and he or she is under the age of 21, they cannot have a BAC of .02 percent or higher. That means they cannot have even just one drink in their system. If they do have a BAC of .02 percent or higher, they will lose their license for a period of six months immediately.

Facing a DUI charge can be daunting. It doesn't mean that you will be without a license for the rest of your life. You simply need to know the best way to fight the charge in Florida so you do not have to say goodbye to your freedom.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.

back to top